Five Icons Selected As 2018 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Class

Byron, Evernham, Hornaday, Squier, Yates Comprise Hall’s Ninth Class

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 24, 2017) – NASCAR announced today the inductees who will comprise the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018. The five-person group – the ninth since the inception of the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2010 – consists of Red Byron, Ray Evernham, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ken Squier and Robert Yates. In addition, NASCAR announced that Jim France earned the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

Kyle Busch Finally Wins A Race At Charlotte

There is a reason I don’t pay a lot of attention to the All-Star race. It’s at a 1.5 mile track known for aero challenges. The leader gets away and it’s all over. No matter what kind of gimmicks NASCAR puts in place with clown shows before the race, untested tire compound choices and stages, nothing really works to make for a really good race. The All-Star race used to be worth watching, but it hasn’t lived up to expectation in years. The only element I like is whittling the cars down so that the top 10 drivers run the final stage. NASCAR could add a twist where a driver or 2 gets dropped at each stage, mimicking the playoff format. That would make the stage racing even more compelling.

Monster Mash: Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race Ready To Roar At Charlotte

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series
Next Race: Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race
The Place: Charlotte Motor Speedway
The Date: Saturday, May 20
The Time: 8 p.m. ET
TV: FS1, 6 p.m. ET (Monster Energy Open)
Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio
Distance: 105 miles (70 laps); Stage 1 (Ends after 20 Laps), Stage 2 (Ends after 40 Laps), Stage 3 (Ends After 60 Laps), Final Stage (Ends After 70 Laps)

Truex Wins Kansas in Style

(Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images through NASCAR Images)

In a night where Ryan Blaney bested the field with his first pole, I guess it was no surprise that Martin Truex, Jr. would win at Kansas. He started third, he nearly won here a year ago and he has one heck of a fast race car. You can also look to the starting grid dominated by Ford and Toyota. The only Chevy in the top 10 was Kyle Larson in ninth. And if you look at the final grid, only two Chevys were in the top 10.

Pole Sitter Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Claims First Cup Series Win at Talladega

(Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

TALLADEGA, Ala. (May 7, 2017) – After earning his second career Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) Coors Light pole award, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. took the lead on the final lap to claim his first career MENCS victory at Talladega Superspeedway on Sunday afternoon earning a spot in the playoffs.

“This is for all the guys at the shop,” Stenhouse said afterwards. “This year, every race we’re getting better and better.  We knew that Talladega was a good track for us.  Its been a good one in the past and I’m just glad we parked it for my buddy, Bryan Clauson.  He was with us on that last lap.