Joey Logano Named to NASCAR ’75 Greatest Drivers’ Honor List

At 18, when he reached big-time auto racing, the kid from Connecticut was often called “Sliced Bread.” As in … “he’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.”


Now, as a 64-time winner over NASCAR’s top three series and a two-time Cup Series champion, “Sliced” is also known as one of the sport’s 75 Greatest Drivers. On Tuesday, Joey Logano, of Middletown, Connecticut, became the 73rd driver so honored, leaving only (almost certainly) Matt Kenseth and Jimmie Johnson to be named later this week.

Logano has been a consistent winner since his Cup, Xfinity Series, and Craftsman Truck Series debuts in 2008. Still young at 33, he already has 32 victories in Cup, 30 in Xfinity, and two (in only nine starts) in the Truck Series. All told, he has 66 poles, 252 top-5 finishes, 412 top-10 finishes, and 64 points victories in 764 starts across NASCAR’s top three series.

He spent parts of his first five Cup seasons in Toyotas at Joe Gibbs Racing before moving to Fords at Team Penske in 2013. The most recent of his 32 victories was two months ago in the Ambetter Health 400 at Atlanta Motor Speedway. It marked the 15th season he’s won at least once in Cup, his 13th season in a row.

Logano’s Cup resume with Gibbs and Penske is Hall of Fame worthy: 579 combined starts, 28 poles, 32 victories, 152 top-5 finishes, and 263 top-10 finishes. He won Cup championships for Penske in 2018 and 2022, and has been top-10 in final points nine times in 14 full seasons. Most of his victories—all but two—have come with Penske.

His breakthrough victory with JGR was in the rain at Loudon, N.H. in June of 2009. He was just 19 years, one month, and four days at the time, making him the youngest winner in Cup history. The year before, at 18 years and 21 days at Kentucky Speedway, he became (and remains) the youngest Xfinity Series winner.

Among Logano’s other notable Cup victories: the 2015 Daytona 500, plus three times each at Kansas, Las Vegas, Michigan, Phoenix, and Talladega. He’s won twice each at Bristol, (plus one on the Bristol dirt), Loudon, and Richmond, and once each at Atlanta, Charlotte, Darlington, Fort Worth, St. Louis, Homestead, Martinsville, Pocono, and Watkins Glen.

He will be honored at this weekend’s Goodyear 400 at Darlington along with the other drivers (or their representatives) named as NASCAR’s 75 Greatest Drivers. He’s the eighth active full-schedule driver on the list, joining Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott, Martin Truex Jr., Brad Keselowski, and Kevin Harvick.

NASCAR’S 50 Greatest Drivers


Bobby Allison

Davey Allison

Buck Baker

Buddy Baker

Geoff Bodine

Neil Bonnett

Red Byron

Jerry Cook

Dale Earnhardt

Ralph Earnhardt

Bill Elliott

Richie Evans

Red Farmer

Tim Flock

A.J. Foyt

Harry Gant

Jeff Gordon

Ray Hendrick

Jack Ingram

Ernie Irvan

Bobby Isaac

Dale Jarrett

Ned Jarrett

Junior Johnson

Alan Kulwicki

Terry Labonte

Fred Lorenzen

Tiny Lund

Mark Martin

Hershel McGriff

Cotton Owens

Marvin Panch

Benny Parsons

David Pearson

Lee Petty

Richard Petty

Tim Richmond

Fireball Roberts

Ricky Rudd

Marshall Teague

Herb Thomas

Curtis Turner

Rusty Wallace

Darrell Waltrip

Joe Weatherly

Bob Welborn

Rex White

Glen Wood

Cale Yarborough

LeeRoy Yarbrough

The Next 25


(No particular order)

51, Tony Stewart

52, Kasey Kahne

53, Mike Stefanik

54, Randy Lajoie

55, Kyle Larson

56, Greg Biffle

57, Sterling Marlin

58, Ryan Newman

59, Chase Elliott

60, Carl Edwards

61, Ron Hornaday

62, Jeff Burton

63, Dale Earnhardt Jr.

64, Bobby Labonte

65, Martin Truex Jr.

66, Brad Keselowski

67, Larry Phillips

68, Sammy Ard

69, Kurt Busch

70, Kyle Busch

71, Greg Biffle

72, Kevin Harvick

73, Joey Logano

74, TBA

75, TBA

Total Page Visits: 96 - Today Page Visits: 3


Related posts