Mike Bumgarner Promoted to JR Motorsports Director of Competition

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (Sept. 1, 2022) – JR Motorsports today named longtime crew chief Mike Bumgarner to its director of competition role. Bumgarner, currently the crew chief for Josh Berry and JRM’s No. 8 team, will assume the position at the conclusion of the 2022 season.

Tapley in as WMMP Director of Race Day Operations, Knights Returns as Director of Competition

N. Woodstock, NH — Current Thunder Road, Thompson Speedway and American-Canadian Tour (ACT) race director Scott Tapley has further stepped up his role in the ACT-Sanctioned landscape as the new Director of Race Day Operations for White Mountain Motorsports Park (WMMP). After years of performing various duties at Connecticut’s Stafford Speedway and New London-Waterford Speedbowl, New York’s Riverhead Raceway, Lee USA Speedway, the Modified Racing Series and the INEX Legends National Championship series, Tapley joined the Thunder Road operational staff last season.

Eckelberg Named First Director of High School Racing Association

MADISON and LA CROSSE – The newly-created High School Racing Association has named Jonathan Eckelberg as its first director. The High School Racing Association (HSRA) was started in 2020 as a combined effort between La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem, Wis. and Madison International Speedway in Oregon, Wis. Co-founders are Chuck Deery and Gregg McKarns, who promote those two tracks respectively. The HSRA features high school-aged drivers in competition throughout the summer race season.