White Mountain Celebrates Top 2022 Teams at Banquet of Champions

N. Woodstock, NH — On Saturday, White Mountain Motorsports Park celebrated its top teams of the 2022 season in grand fashion. Over 275 drivers, team members, sponsors and staff flooded the ballroom of the Littleton Elks Club to congratulate each other on another stellar season at New Hampshire’s favorite quarter mile. 

Along with the five champions officially crowned, including Nine-time Foley Oil & Propane Late Model Champion Quinny Welch, Officials were proud to commemorate several special award winners as well. The annual Sportsmanship Award went to 2022 Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank Strictly Stock Mini Champion Chris Moulton for his consistent great spirits, can-do attitude and ability to work with teammates and competitors alike throughout the season.

After Tanner Woodard received his Championship Honors for the Wells River Chevrolet Flying Tigers, fellow Tiger stand-out Mike Clark took home the 2022 Most Improved Driver award for his growth in the iconic division that included two-wins on the season. The Dad’s 4 By Tool & Supply Kids Division teams were also celebrated as the next generation of racers on the White Mountain high banks.

Commemorations continued for 2022 Wayne’s Market Dwarf Car Champion Jason Wyman and the inaugural Ammonoosuc Asphalt Mini Late Model Champion Nick Anderson before it was time for the Avery Award. The Avery Award is annually gifted to those that exemplify the spirit and drive of White Mountain founders Terri and Donnie Avery. This year’s recipient is longtime track worker Theron Reed whose contributions to the North Woodstock oval keep the speedway running at full capacity week in and week out as an integral part of the staff of White Mountain.

In an unexpected twist of events, for the first time in its illustrious history, the Don MacTavish Memorial Award was given out at the White Mountain Banquet of Champions. The MacTavish Award is an iconic American-Canadian Tour award that is annually given to someone who exemplifies the love for stock car racing held by the late Don MacTavish, a former NASCAR National Champion who tragically lost his life at Daytona International Speedway in 1969 as he was preparing for a meteoric rise to our sport’s highest levels. 

The MacTavish award has been gifted to drivers, team owners, race officials and technology contributors over the past fifty years and for only the third time, this iconic Award was gifted to a deserving media member. 

After contributing to the Northeast stock car scene for over 25 years, Richard ‘Biggy’ Bigelow was honored with the MacTavish Award on Saturday. His weekly ‘Strap In’ column in the Caledonian Record newspaper was one of the most active pages of their website, earning hundreds of avid readers weekly for 25 years. An emotional and nearly speechless Bigelow was honored to receive the Award, thanking his family for their long support of both him and stock car racing as he looks forward to a much-deserved retirement.

With the closing of the 2022 Banquet of Champions by White Mountain Motorsports Park managing partner Cris Michaud, the 2022 season has officially come to an end. The 2023 White Mountain Motorsports Park schedule has been released, along with forms and paperwork for the upcoming season. Sponsorship opportunities are readily available for those wishing to join the White Mountain and American-Canadian Tour family. Interested parties can contact Marketing Director Marvin Galarneau at mfg@acttour.com

For more information, contact the White Mountain Motorsports Park offices at (802) 244-6963, media@acttour.com, or visit http://www.whitemountainmotorsports.com. You can also follow us on Facebook at @WhiteMtnMotorsports.

Total Page Visits: 277 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment