Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek 77 Set For Riverhead Raceway Saturday

After a two week, mid-season vacation the NASCAR Modifieds of the Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series return to Riverhead Raceway in a big way Saturday July 30th competing in the annual Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek 77. The race will serve as the second leg of the Crown Jewel Series for the Ted Christopher Cup. The Class of ’22 will be inducted onto the Cromarty Wall of Champions with Rusty Turbush of Manorville and John Cozza of Medford the two inductees.

By Bob Finan

As qualifying concludes the night’s opening ceremonies will be followed by the Cromarty Wall of fame inductions. Rusty Turbush, part of the famed racing family from Riverhead becomes the third member of his family going up on the wall joining his father Charles and older brother “Dynamite” Dan. From his very first win in the Novice/Charger division in July of 1982, Rusty was a force to be reckoned with winning 25 times during his career ranking him fourth on the all time win list behind Danny (52), nephew Chris Turbush (42) and Robin Vollmoeller (30). John Cozza enjoyed success on two front during his driving days at Riverhead Raceway. In three short seasons with the Blunderbusts, Cozza won nine times, his first coming in June 0f 1987 and iced the cake in 1989 when he won the Blunderbust track title but later sold his championship car. Returning to racing some years later Cozza continued to build and win races across three other divisions. John posted two Super Pro Truck wins one each in 2000 & ’01, the 2008 Grand Enduro championship. His most notable success came in the Truck Enduro ranks where he was a 22-time winner and the 2009 track champion. Once the two inductees have been enshrined, track GM John Ellwood has promised a special unveiling that will occur but the details of that unveiling remain top secret.

Heading into the Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek 77 defending race winner and track champion Kyle Soper of Manorville hopes to repeat but will have to contend with the driver who won the first round of the 2022 Crown Jewel Series John Beatty Jr. of Merrick. Beatty won “The Flying Dutchman 90” back on June 4th. Other 2022 championship contenders hoping for victory in the Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek 77 include, Dave Brigati of Calverton, Chris Young of Calverton, Dylan Slepian of Dix Hills, Eddie Brunnhoelzl III of Levittown, JR Bertuccio of Centereach, Justin Brown of Manorville, Chris Rogers of Patchogue and Michael Rutkoski of Mattituck.

On Friday TBR racing owner Tommy Baldwin Jr. confirmed he will be bringing “Showtime” Jimmy Blewett of Howell, NJ to steer his 7NY machine. TBR Racing has enjoyed much success on the NASCAR WMT in 2022 and in February they teamed up with Blewett o win the 2022 World Series of Asphalt Racing title at New Smyrna Speedway. Most recent the paring won the July 9th Jersey Shore 150 at Wall Stadium. Baldwin has entered the 77 run in memory of his father “Tiger” Tom often but has never won the event. With many racing bucket list items checked off to date in 2022, Tommy is hopeful this box will be checked off too.

The Blunderbusts will run their second Miller Lite Triple Crown Series and be joined by the Crate Modifieds, INEX Legend Race Cars, Eddie Partridge Vintage All Stars, Truck Enduro and a 8-Cylinder Enduro. Opening ceremonies are set for 6:00 pm, qualifying will proceed those ceremonies. Spectator gates open at 4:00 pm, adults $30, kids 6-12 $10, 5 & under free.

To keep up on all the championship standings, latest news and the remaining 2022 schedule of events please visit E-mails reach us at and our phone number is 631-842-RACE.

Total Page Visits: 426 - Today Page Visits: 2

Leave a Comment