Cabral Doubles up at the High Banks of Hudson in NEMA Sunday Special

The Northeastern Midget Association rolled into the high banks of the Hudson International Speedway this past Saturday evening.  It was the first time the full midgets visited Hudson in nearly 20 years, and the second time this season for the LItes.  Seven-time NEMA champion, Randy Cabral of Kingston, MA, dominated the evening winning both the Lite and NEMA portions of the show.  Cabral extended his historic run, winning a feature event in the last 22 consecutive seasons – a mark that surpassed Dave Humphrey’s fifteen consecutive seven years ago.

In the LItes, Chris Vose and Mike Pernesiglio took down the heat race wins.  In the feature, Tiana Kibbe jumped out into the lead from her pole starting position.  Behind her, Randy Cabral was working the outside lane, and worked his way into second on lap three.  Cabral would begin hounding Kibbe, and make the pass under her into turn one and two on lap four.  Once in command, Cabral quickly went to work pulling away from the field.


Behind him, points leader Jake Trainor was making his way to the front, with last week’s feature winner, Richie Coy, in tow.  Trainor would overtake Kibbe on lap 26, and Coy would overtake her on lap 27.  Out front, it was all Cabral enroute to his feature event win.  Trainor would finish second, followed by Coy, Kibbe, Mike Pernesiglio, Kyle Valeri, Joey Bailey, Chris Vose, Paul Scally. And Dylan Coutu.


In the NEMA feature, Doug Cleveland and Mike Horn brought the field to the green.  Cleveland, having one of his best seasons yet, blasted out into the lead – but the field was brought to a halt due to an Avery Stoehr flip, after contact with Matt Merry. Both drivers were OK, and the field went back to racing.

Compensated Advertising


On the restart, Cleveland lined up next to Randy Cabral.  When the green flag flew, Cleveland had the edge off of turn four, but Cabral beat him into the first turn.  Once in front, Cabral set sail, dominating the remainder of the feature, winning by over a half lap.


Cabral took down the victory, followed by Cleveland – who had his best run in over two decades, a well-deserved podium, Mike Horn, AZ’s Nathan Byrd, Alan Chambers, Paul Scallly, John Zych, Matt Merry, and Avery Stoehr.


“We got lucky tonight,” said Cabral. “We were thrashing on the 17 after it broke and on our own cars and forgot to charge the battery.  It died on the last lap and the motor started breaking up bad,” he said.  “The car was spot on tonight.  Tim and I talked before the feature and made some calls, and they worked great,” he said.


NEMA picks back up at the Wiscassett Speedway in two weeks.

Total Page Visits: 214 - Today Page Visits: 2

Related posts

Leave a Comment