O’Sullivan Stays Torrid, Wins Street 50 Saturday At Monadnock

WINCHESTER, N.H.- Tommy O’Sullivan won the crown, Justin Beecher earned the belt, and Gordon Farnum, with his tenth win of the season, went where only five others have gone in 50 years. It all happened Saturday at Monadnock Speedway.

By Gary Dutton

And, oh yes, Young Gun Dominick Stafford took his first career victory lap after wiring Saturday’s novice feature race at the high-banked quarter-mile.

O’Sullivan stayed perfect on the summer with his fifth Street Stock victory in five 2021 runs, leading Beecher under the checkers in Saturday’s 50-lap dual-title Street Stock main event. It netted the Wilbraham, Mass.blaster the Teddy Bear Pools Triple Crown title, while Beecher’s strong night’s work earned him the NHSTRA Battle For The Belt series championship, one spot better than Dave Greenslit.

Justin Littlewood topped Saturday’s Late Model Sportsman feature, while Nick Houle scored Pure Stock victory number six and Lucas Leone topped the Pro Truck Series 55-lapper.

With both the Teddy Bear Pools Triple Crown Series and NHSTRA Street Stock Battle For The Belt Series up for grabs in Saturday’s 50-lap main event, things were bound to be wild.

Tommy O’Sullivan, whose win a week earlier ran his unbeaten streak to four, drew the pole for Saturday’s 50-lapper, surely bad news for the rest of the 25-car field. O’Sullivan entered the night’s main event tied with his nephew, Chris Buffone, atop the Triple Crown points parade.

More drama? Justin Beecher and Dave Greenslit were deadlocked at number one in NHSTRA Belt points. Something had to give.

O’Sullivan led all the way to win his fifth of the summer and, with the victory, the Teddy Bear Pools crown. Buffone’s bid ended along the frontchute wall on lap 30. Beecher held second the last 21 action-packed laps to edge Greenslit for the Belt title.

Greenslit got up for third on the white flag lap but couldn’t overhaul Beecher, and Hillary Renaud was impressive in fourth, just ahead of Claremont strongman Cody Schoolcraft.

Fitzwilliam Flyer Gordon Farnum won his tenth Mini Stock main of the summer but still went home second in the 2021 points race. Farnum took the lead from Bill Chaffee on lap six and never looked back.

Louie Maher stormed back from an opening-lap booboo to finish second and stay two points atop the championship leader board. Kevin Clayton’s strong third-place finish was his second in as many weeks. Jake Puchalski, thumped on lap one, was masterful in charging back for fourth.

Ryan Currier led the first 20 go-rounds in the LMS feature, but it was Justin Littlewood taking the checkers five laps later with Currier in his shadow. Ryan Bell was strong in third, while Austin Brehio’s fourth-place finish moved him atop the points parade, four markers ahead of Cam Curtis.

Nature Boy Nick Houle used the low line to pass JD Stockwell on lap 15 of the Pure Stock 25-lapper and then hold the teen charger in his shadow the rest of the way to earn his sixth victory of the summer.

Stockwell, who’d taken his first victory lap the night before at Claremont, finished second at Houle’s bumper, with rock-solid Jason LeRay third. Chris Davis held on to his slim points lead by finishing fifth, just behind Kyle Robinson Newell.

In the night’s first feature race, Dominick Stafford led all the way to score his career-first victory. He became the Young Gun’s fourth different winner this year, taking the checkers ahead of Zach Zilinski and one-time winner Aaliyah Tacy.

Lucas Leone completed his sweep of three 2021 Pro Truck Series events, edging 13-year-old team-mate Devin Deshaies in the series’ 55-lap feature. Veteran Duane Noll was bonked out of second on the final lap, coming home fourth behind Randy Burr.


STREET STOCK (50-lap title race): Tommy O’Sullivan, Justin Beecher, Dave Greenslit, Hillary Renaud, Cody Schoolcraft, Nate Wenzel, Jason Kozacka, John Sousa, Joe Arena, Tim Wenzel.

LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN: Justin Littlewood, Ryan Currier, Ryan Bell, Austin Brehio, Haydon Scott, Cam Curtis, Phil Meany, Glen Brehio, Caleb Cashman, Nancy Muni-Ruot.

MINI STOCK: Gordon Farnum, Louie Maher, Kevin Clayton, Jake Puchalski, Pat Houle, Kevin McKnight, Matt Lambert, Jeff Heath, Josh Hubbard, Jeff Asselin.

PURE STOCK: Nick Houle, JD Stockwell, Jason Leray, Kyle Robinson Newell, Chris Davis, Kyle Templeton, Reagan Buffum, Damon Roy, Jimmy Zellman, Doug Cameron.

YOUNG GUNS: Dominick Stafford, Zach Zilinski, Aaliyah Tacy.
Michelle Cloutier
Track Operations Manager

Monadnock Speedway

Total Page Visits: 147 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment