Champions Crowned at Devil’s Bowl Speedway Banquet

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. – Devil’s Bowl Speedway officially put a wrap on the 2021 stock car racing season, hosting the annual Banquet of Champions on Saturday, January 22. Drivers and teams from Vermont, New York, and New Hampshire traveled to a beautiful new location at the Holiday Inn-Saratoga Springs in the historic New York town to collect championship laurels, special awards, and nearly $25,000 in total point fund prize money.

The LaDuc Family received the lion’s share of the honors. Orwell, Vt.’s Tim LaDuc and car owner Steve LaRose were celebrated as the champions of the headline Sportsman Modified division, earning $5,000 for their efforts. Justin Comes was the runner-up with the top five completed by Vince Quenneville, Tanner Siemons, and Demetrios Drellos, and Anthony Warren was crowned Rookie of the Year. The title was the first for LaDuc since winning the crown in 2000 in the former 358-Modified division.

Moments after Tim LaDuc’s championship speech, the prestigious John Bruno Award was presented to him and brother Roger in memory of their late parents, Charles and Barbara, in recognition of their lifetime contributions to the sport of stock car racing while maintaining high standards of conduct and respect. “Old Reliable” Charlie LaDuc began racing in the 1960s at Fairmont Speedway and continued at Devil’s Bowl until his passing in 1985. Barb LaDuc supported her family’s racing efforts for 60 years before her passing just hours before the 2021 season opener. The LaDucs received a lengthy standing ovation when the surprise announcement was made.

Bridport, Vt.’s Troy Audet was the champion in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman division. In his first year in a Modified car, Audet won six races – a single-season record for the division. He collected a $1,200 check for his championship and will compete as a rookie in the headline Sportsman class in 2022. Austin Comes, Evan Roberts, Beau Reeves, and Anthony Ryan rounded out the top five finishers.

The Super Stock division was dominated by Fair Haven, Vt.’s Chris Murray, who won 11 of 21 races on his way to his third championship. Paul Braymer finished second overall, followed by Rookie of the Year Chuck Bradford, Mark Norris, and Josh Bussino.

Ripton, Vt.’s Chris Sumner captured his first Mini Stock title after a seven-win season. Rookie of the Year Daryl Gebo posted six wins and finished second overall with Craig Kirby, Brian Blake, and Derrick Counter in tow.

Another 11-win season was turned in by Orwell, Vt.’s Ray Hanson in the Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprints. He outpointed Kaidin White, Kamden Duffy, Rookie of the Year Gage Provencher, and the late Kristopher Severance; Brian Severance received a standing ovation as he accepted his son’s trophy.

Barnstead, N.H.’s Clay Dow was crowned the champion in the three-race Devil’s Bowl Speedway series for the Sprint Cars of New England (SCoNE) tour. Dow averaged a fourth-place finish in the three events, which also helped to propel him to the overall SCoNE tour championship.

The Devil’s Bowl Speedway Award of Excellence was presented to Tony Andrews in recognition of his commitment to the immediate success and future growth of the facility. The East Middlebury, Vt., resident has served as a raceday official for several years and currently works as Race Director at Devil’s Bowl; his 40-year career in racing also includes countless wins and championships as a driver, crew chief, and fabricator.

The annual Dedication Award was given to Whitehall, N.Y.’s Grace Alexander, who received possibly the loudest ovation of the evening. Ms. Alexander has worked in Devil’s Bowl Speedway’s food and beverage concessions since 2012 and has earned a reputation as one of the hardest working people in racing.

The peer-voted Sportsmanship and Most Improved Driver award winners were also announced throughout the evening. Sportsmanship Awards went to Sportsman Modified driver Marty Kelly III, Limited Sportsman driver “Santa” Bob Kilburn, Super Stock racer Mark Norris, Mini Stock favorite Derrick “Moneybags” Counter, and 500cc Mini Sprint rookie Vern Woodard.

Most Improved Driver honors went to four-time Sportsman Modified winner Justin Stone, first-year Limited Sportsman racer Justin Lilly, Super Stock veteran Paul Braymer, Mini Stock rookie Adam Mahoney, and 500cc Mini Sprint rookie Gage Provencher, who won the season’s final race at age 12.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway’s 56th season of racing opens on Saturday, May 7. Season highlights include the Northeast Crate Nationals 100 on May 29, the Short Track Super Series Modifieds on June 19, the Independence Day Sprint Car Spectacular on July 2, the “Battle at the Bowl” Big Block/Small Block Modified event on August 7, and the Vermont 200 Weekend on September 3-4.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, Vt., four miles north of U.S. Route 4, Exit 2, just 20 minutes from Rutland, Vt. For more information, visit Follow Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Facebook at, and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed or with the #DevilsBowl hashtag.



Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs – Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Saturday, January 22, 2022



John Bruno Award:

·         The LaDuc Family, Orwell, Vt.

Award of Excellence:

·         Tony Andrews, East Middlebury, Vt.

Dedication Award:

·         Grace Alexander, Whitehall, N.Y.

Track Champions:

·         Sportsman Modified – Tim LaDuc, Orwell, Vt.

·         O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman – Troy Audet, Bridport, Vt.

·         Super Stock – Chris Murray, Fair Haven, Vt.

·         Mini Stock – Chris Sumner, Ripton, Vt.

·         Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint – Ray Hanson, Orwell, Vt.

·         360 Sprint Car – Clay Dow, Barnstead, N.H.

Rookies of the Year:

·         Sportsman Modified – Anthony Warren, Shoreham, Vt.

·         Super Stock – Chuck Bradford, Addison, Vt.

·         Mini Stock – Daryl Gebo, Orwell, Vt.

·         Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint – Gage Provencher, Bridport, Vt.

Sportsmanship Awards:

·         Sportsman Modified – Marty Kelly III, North Bennington, Vt.

·         O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman – Bob Kilburn, Fair Haven, Vt.

·         Super Stock – Mark Norris, Benson, Vt.

·         Mini Stock – Derrick Counter, Leicester, Vt.

·         Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint – Vern Woodard, Fair Haven, Vt.

Most Improved Driver Awards:

·         Sportsman Modified – Justin Stone, Middlebury, Vt.

·         O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman – Justin Lilly, Castleton, Vt.

·         Super Stock – Paul Braymer, Granville, N.Y.

·         Mini Stock – Adam Mahoney, Rutland, Vt.

·         Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint – Gage Provencher, Bridport, Vt.

Total Page Visits: 80 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment