Dylan Estrella Back In Victory Lane, Plus Other Results From Seekonk Speedway

In just his second race back at Seekonk Speedway, Dylan Estrella is already in Victory Lane. The driver of the Everett’s Auto Parts No. 46 Pro Stock held off a fierce charge from former division champion Kenny Spencer and others to win Saturday’s 40-lap feature — the first under the lights event of the Pro Stock season.

Estrella and Spencer traded the lead back and forth for much of the middle portion of the event. It seemed as if whoever was on the outside lane had the advantage on restarts. In the final 15 circuits, Spencer got loose racing under Estrella for the lead going into turn one, and spun off turn two. From there, Estrella would drive off unchallenged in the final stint to rocket to victory.

No stranger to winning at Seekonk in his career, as a graduate of the Seekonk Youth Racing Association, Estrella went touring for a few years, and is now back to compete in Seekonk’s top class. Mark Jenison charged to the front in the second half of the race, finishing second, while Rick Martin also made a late dash to the front to finish in third. Tommy Adams and Bobby Pelland finished the top-five.

BURNS IS ROWDY: Late Model Feature Winner in Week Two

 Jacob “Rowdy” Burns had all sorts of struggles in the opening day feature for the Late Models at Seekonk Speedway, but week two was a different story. Burns battled seven-time division champion Gerry DeGasparre Jr. hard for the lead early in the race, and then when DeGasparre had problems, Burns wasn’t going to be denied.

He drove the No. 30 to Victory Lane in dominating fashion in the final laps, as the rising star pulled away from a side-by-side battle between Mark Jenison and Chase Belcher for second in the final circuits. Jenison would get the better of Belcher, with Chase following close behind in third at the end of 30 laps.

Vinnie Arrenegado raced from his eighth-place starting spot after winning on opening day to finish in fourth, while pole sitter Connor Souza hung on for a top-five finish. Luke Lebrun was sixth, followed by Richie Murray, Charlie Rose, Corey Fanning and Kevin Bowe.

Axon Rebounds From Mechanical Gremlins, Rolls To Sportsman Win

 Steve Axon had just about the worst opening day you could have at Seekonk Speedway this year, but he turned it around in a big way on Saturday night. Axon used the outside lane early in the 25-lap feature to pass for the lead and pick up the feature win in the second race of the season for the Helger’s South Coast Power Equipment Sportsman division.

On opening day, Axon had a motor failure under the hood, in a wreck that collected multiple cars due to oil on the track. In week two, after a lot of hard work by the crew to get a new motor under the hood, Axon was the dominant force, as the former division champion was not going to be denied in his quest to victory.

A late caution had plans to mess up the night for Axon, but it worked out for him to get the win, as he drove away on the final green flag stint. Adam Pettey charged through the pack to finish second, with opening day winner Ryan Lineham also working his way through to finish third. Colby Lambert and Chris Gomes followed to finish in the fourth and fifth spots.

Craig Pianka was sixth, followed by Chad Baxter, Doug Benoit, Chris Rioux and Ed Perry.

Jake Vanada Rolls To Sport Truck Win in Dominating Fashion

Jake Vanada jumped out front early and wasn’t going to be denied in the first Saturday night short-track race for the Chaz Auto Body Sport Trucks in 2023. Vanada used the outside lane from the jump to get around Bob Tripp for the lead, then drove away in the final laps to place the No. 29 in Victory Lane during the second race of the season.

Vanada had flashbacks in the middle of the race — with defending champion Rick Martin on the outside for a few restarts. Multiple times last year, Vanada was in the lead, with Martin outside for a restart, and Martin would get the better of him. This time, it was all Vanada. Martin would finish the race in second, while Amy Arsenault had a solid run to wrap the podium after 25-laps.

Former division champions Mike Duarte and Mike Cavallaro followed in fourth and fifth. Opening day winner Brittany Campbell was sixth, followed by Darryl Church, David Darling, Bob Tripp and Tom Scully III.

Download PDF Schedule
Total Page Visits: 112 - Today Page Visits: 1


Related posts

Leave a Comment