Blewett Is Tour Modified Turkey Derby Champ At Wall Stadium (Last) Saturday

WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Jimmy Blewett raced from a seventh starting spot and contended every lap of the 150-lap distance before winning the Tour Type Modified main event during the 48th annual Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium Speedway Saturday. It was the Howell resident’s 13th Modified win in in the annual event that returned to the traditional Thanksgiving weekend dates after being postponed by COVID restrictions last fall.

Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa. jumped to the lead from the pole on the 24-car field while others including Blake Barney of Jackson, Long Island’s Timmy Solomito, Tyler Truex of Egg Harbor Township and Blewett tried to track him down. When Hirschman dropped from the race on lap 67 with mechanical woes, Solomito took command and stayed in the top spot until lap 82 when he, Blewett and a host of others pitted for tire changes.

Anthony Sesely of Keyport and Holmdel’s Andrew Krause were the top two when action resumed before Krause took command on lap 90. Truex soon raced into the top spot and held the lead until a lap 113 restart when Blewett powered to the front. From that point on Blewett was impressive while Barney raced to second over first time Wall Stadium visitor Andelo Belsito of Oxford, Mass. who qualified at the rear of the field through the last chance race. Solomito and Danny Bohn of Mooresville, N.C. wrapped up the top five.

“This is for all the people who we have lost these past few years,” an emotional winner said after a post-race display of burn outs. “We have all lost a lot of relatives and friends and I’ve wanted to dedicate a win to then for a while. I am just so happy to get this win for this new team and team owner Ryan Fisher.”

Compensated Advertising

The Tour Modified finish remains unofficial until results from tire samples return from testing at a laboratory.

Mike Alcaro won the companion 30-lap Legend Cars main event on Saturday over Noah Korner, Luke LeBrun, George Tomko and Joey Braun. Friday’s 40-lap Legend Car main was won by Daniel Carter, with Kevin Nowak, Tomko, LeBrun and Quinn Trimmer wrapping up the top five.

Neil Rutt III of Edison topped Saturday’s Limited Late Model 50-lapper over a top five of Howie Conk, Brandon Turbush, Ray Minieri and Eric Zeh. Saturday’s 50-lap Dirt Modified race was won by Dillon Steuer over Andrew Krause and Ed Dachenhausen. The Dirt Outlaw Stock 25-lapper saw Jaramy Doerr, Spider Ensinger, Sr. and Spider Ensinger, Jr. complete the top three. Briggs Danner won the 30-lap race for the Three-Quarter Midgets.

On Friday, Ryan Flores was the winner of the Factory Stock 100 lap race, with Robert Stack, Brian Osborn, Scott Riggleman and Joe Mongeau completing the top five. Ryan Maher won Friday’s Fast 4 Stock feature over Alonzo Morales.

With the 2021 season now complete, speedway officials are busy preparing the 2022 schedule which will include a NASCAR Modified Tour race in July.

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is

TOUR MODIFIED FEATURE – 150 Laps – 1. JIMMY BLEWETT, HOWELL, 2. Blake Barney, 3. Angelo Belsito, Auburn, MA,4. Timmy Solomito, 5. Danny Bohn, 6. Tyler Truex, 7. Ron Frees, 8. Tommy Martino, Jr., 9. Eddie McCarthy, 10. Artie Pederson, 11. Steven Reed, 12. Joey Merlino, 13. Matt Swanson, Concord, MA 14. Andrew Krase, 15. Derek Hopkinson, 16. Justin Brown, 17. Donny Wagner, 18. JR Bertuccio, 19. Dave Sapienza, 20. Anthony Sesely, 21. Matt Hirschman, 22. Tom Catalano, 23 Eric Mauriello, 24. Jason Treat.

SATURDAY LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 30 Laps – 1. Mike Alcaro, 2. Noah Korner, 3. Luke LeBrun, 4. George Tomko, 5. Joey Braun, 6. Daniel Carter, 7. Kevin Nowak, 8. Quinn Trimmer, 9. Derek Gluchacki, 10. Glenn Korner, 11. Alan Pederson, 12. Reagan Parent, 13. Mike Benton, 14. Mike Fulton, 15. Collin Hoeffner, 16. Nick Moravito, 17. Charlie Hodge, 18. Justin Emmons, 19. Jeff Stevens, 20. Joe Oliver, 21. Pat Verwys, 22. Eddie Idec

FRIDAY LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. DANIEL CARTER, 2. Nowak, 3. Tomko, 4. LeBrun, 5. Trimmer, 6. Noah Korner, 7. Moravit, 8. Benton, 9. Hodge, 10. Stevens, 11. Tanner Jones, !2. Kenny Green, 13. Matt Verlangieri, 14. Alcaro, 15. John Gorman, 16. Pederson, 17. Oliver, 18. Glenn Korner, 19. Colin Milroy, 20. Joe parker, 21. Parent, 22. Gluchacki, 23. Emmons.

LIMITED LATE MODELS – 50 Laps – 1. NEIL RUTT III, EDISON, 2. Howie Conk, 3. Brandon Turbush, 4. Ray Minieri, 5. Eric Zeh, 6. Ed Cheslak, 7. Mike Tillett, 8. Joe Mancuso, 9. Mark Hudson, 10. Chris McGuire, 11. Gerard Giordano, 12. Greg Gastelu, 13. Rich Carman, 14. Wayne Coury, 15. Brian Doyle

DIRT MODIFIEDS FEATURE – 50 Laps – 1. DILLON STEUER, 2. Andrew Krause, 3. Ed Dachenhausen, 4. Roger LeBreque, 5. Mickey Kessler, 6. Chris Grbac, 7. Scott maher, 8. Rich Coons, 9. Jack Ely, 10. Dom Buffalino, 11. Andy Crane, 12. Kevin Borden, 13. Dakota Kessler

DIRT OUTLAW STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. JARAMY DOERR, 2. Spider Ensinger, Sr, 3. Spider Ensinger, Jr., 4 Scott Riggleman, 5. Jon Parker, 6. Chris Felber, 7. Gunner Schultz, 8. Nancy Riggleman

FRIDAY FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 100 Laps – 1. RYAN FLORES, 2. Robert Stake, 3. Brian Osborn, 4. Scott Riggleman, 5. Joe Mongeau, 6. Blake Barney, 7. Joe Helberg, 8. AJ Jadacki, 9. Nick Kilmer, 10. Gary Burton, 11. Steve Mangano, 12. Ashley Proposki, 13. Mike Montano, 14. Billy Both, 15. Nick Catone, 16. Ronnie Mullen, 17. Chris Weber, 18. Tom Rajkowski, 19. Rob Longo, 20. Bryan O’Shea, 21. Kevin Flores, 22. Gerard Lawrence, 23. Greg Harris

FAST 4 FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. RYAN MAHER, NEPTUNE, 2. Alonzo Morales, 3. CJ Zukowski, 4. Dylan Flynn, 5. Joe Warren, 6. Mike Lavery, 7. Ryan Warren, 8. Malcolm Campbell, 9. Chuck McDonald, 10. Nicole Razzano, 11. James Hall, 12. Bill Schawarz, 13. Billy Pross

Total Page Visits: 357 - Today Page Visits: 2

Related posts

Leave a Comment