Hirschman Wins Lucky Charms 99 At Southern National Motorsports Park

It wasn’t an easy romp for Matt Hirschman in the PEE DEE sponsored number 60 on Saturday 3/19 at the beautifully prepared Southern National Motorsports Park (in Lucama, NC), but Hirschman took home the winner’s check after a spirited duel with Max McLaughlin for the last 10 laps of the Lucky Charms 99.

   Jonathan Brown topped the time trial chart turning the 4/10 mile speedway with a time of 14.893.  The track record is held by Junior Miller with a time of 14.220, that record was set in 1993.
   The top ten fastest qualifiers redrew for starting position and Jeremey Gerstner and Joey Coultier brought the 27 car field to flagman J.B. Cole’s green flag. Gerstner and Coultier tried to run away from the rest of the field racing out to a quarter of a lap lead by lap 6.
   Behind Gerstner and Coultier the rest of the field was bunched up two by two side by side changing positions every lap.
   On lap 12 Coultier raced by Gerstner taking over the lead and racing out to a half lap lead. The first yellow came on lap 30. The stage caution negated Coultier’s huge lead and allowed the field to bunch up for the restart. Behind Coultier was Gerstner, Hirschman, Caleb Heady, Brian Loftin and Max McLaughlin.
   Again Coultier flew out to a straightaway lead while Heady, driving the Tommy Baldwin number 7NY passed Hirschman on lap 34 and four laps later Heady put Gerstner in his rear view mirror for second place.
   The second yellow of the event flew on lap 59. It was the perfect time to pit for adjustments and fresh Hoosier tires. Exiting pit road first was Heady with the fastest qualifier of the event, Jonathan Brown second, Brandon Ward third. Jamie Tomaino fourth and Hirschman fifth.
   When the green reappeared Hirschman powered his way into third place and one lap later passed Brown for second place. Hirschman followed Heady for one lap and raced past him to become the new leader on lap 62.  Further back in the pack McLaughlin decided it was time to go and in twenty laps he raced into the runner up spot, then on lap 91 he caught Hirschman in heavy traffic and passed Hirschman for the lead.
   Three laps later Hirschman outdrove McLaughlin and became the new and final leader racing to the victory. McLaughlin followed in 0.558 of a second behind. Third on the podium was Burt Myers who put on a brilliant run to finish Hirschman and McLaughlin.
   The victory by Hirschman was his second this year and his fourth straight with the SMART tour.
Track- Southern National Motorsports Park, Kenly, N.C.
Size-4/10 mile 0.400
Race-Lucky Charms 99
Fastest qualifier-  Jonathan Brown- 14.893
Cautions-(3)-laps 30-59-94
Time of race-43:58.737
Lap leaders-#(79) 1-11-#(02) 12-58-#(7NY) 59-61- #(60) 63-90- #(77)-91-93-#(60)-94-99.
1-#60-Matt Hirschman
2–77-Max McLaughlin
3–1–Burt Myers
4–2–Brandon Ward
5-25-Bobby Labonte
6-15-Brian Loftin
7-7NY-Caleb Heady
8-4-Jason Myers
9-14-Bobby Measmer Jr.
10-21-Jimmy Wallace
11-22-Jonathan Brown
12-02C-Joey Coultier
13-45-Gary Young
14-8F-Chris Finocchario
15-6-Greg Butcher
16-99-Jamie Tomaino
17-48-John Kievman
18-79-Jeremy Gershner
19-8NY-Wes Gilbert
20-07-Dennis Holdren
21-79D-Mason Diaz
22-5-Tom Buzze Jr.
23-01-Brian Weber
24-12-Dean Ward
25-02-Troy Young
26-00-Kevin Orlando
27-03-Craig Young
Next SMART tour event- Caraway Speedway, Sophia,N.C. 3/26/2022
Story by Jim Snape
Photos by Crystal Snape

Courtesy of YankeeRacer.com

Total Page Visits: 97 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment