Brandon Williams & Kyle Willette Capture First Career Wins At Wiscasset Speedway

The nationwide heat wave wasn’t stopping Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday as they hosted an exciting night of Group #2 racing action. The night’s program included the Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Models, Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis, 88.5FM Modifieds, T&L Automotive Roadrunners and the Portland Glass Strictly Streets.


The fun didn’t stop there as the night also served as the 53rd “Birthday” night for the speedway. Past and present track champions joined together in Victory Lane during intermission as part of a special presentation honoring the track’s history and the 2022 Hall of Fame inductees. The honorees have all helped shape Wiscasset Speedway into the track it is today, whether that be as a driver, promoter, sponsor, car builder, etc. This year’s inductees include Larry Emerson, Chuck Lachance, J.C. Marsh, Forest Peaslee, Ray Penfold, “Big” John Phippen and Norm Sherman. Neil Greenleaf, Neil Reny and Johnny Rice were also honored for their dedication and contributions to the sport during intermission as well.

Five divisions of feature racing action followed the Hall of Fame presentation. Frank Moulton started the day off strong in the Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model division, charging through the field to pick up the first heat win of the day. Moulton started on the front row for the feature and pulled away with the early lead over Dan Trask. He held a full straightaway lead by the halfway point of the race and even began approaching lap traffic. The race took a 360 on lap 36 as Chris Burgess and Dave Getchell tangled, resulting in a caution. Moulton maintained command of the lead through two restarts, but Will Collins was hot on his heels. Collins pulled to Moulton’s door on lap 41, overtaking the lead just two laps later. Another late caution on lap 46 brought the field back together and also brought Josh St. Clair into the picture after St. Clair charged his way through the field and into the top 3. Collins and St. Clair battled closely following the restart but Collins persevered, scoring his first feature victory of the 2022 season. Division rookie, Daniel Harding, rounded out the top 3.

Zach Audet was notably absent from the Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis on Saturday, leaving 10 drivers battling it out for the win. Kyle Willette kicked off his day with a heat win in the division and quickly pulled away from Jimmy Childs in the 25-lap feature. Meanwhile, Childs retired from the race early due to a blown motor. Willette took off like a rocket from the get-go, extending his lead to a full straightaway by lap 10. He was untouchable in the closing laps of the race, ultimately picking up his first feature victory in the division. Travis Poulliot and Jason Kimball rounded out the podium. The race was also surprisingly the first race since October of 2019 that neither Zach Audet or Jimmy Childs finished in the top 3.

Brandon Williams, a rookie in the 88.5FM Modifieds, was well on his way to his first Modified victory two weeks ago until a mechanical problem retired him from the race with just four laps to go. He was on the rebound on Saturday, picking up a heat victory before taking off with the early lead over Allen Moeller in the 30 lap feature. Williams held strong for 20 laps, extending his lead to over a second before he began to approach lap traffic. Two late race cautions on lap 25 and 27 brought 4-time race winner Ryan Ripley back into the picture with just three laps to go. Ryan Ripley made his way to Brandon Williams’ outside door on the final lap and it was a drag race to the finish from there for the two competitors. After his heartbreak finish 2 weeks ago, Brandon Williams was finally able to capitalize and pick up his first feature victory in the division. Margin of victory? .059 seconds. Matty Sanborn rounded out the top 3, picking up his first podium finish of the 2022 season.

Ken Turner took off with the early lead in the 15-lap T&L Automotive Roadrunners feature. Nicole Brown was on the move early, overtaking the top spot on lap 6. David Whitelaw, who almost lost it in turn 4 earlier in the race, moved into the top 2 on lap 8 and began reeling in Nicole Brown. Whitelaw was within two car lengths of Brown with two to go and the drivers made heavy contact in turn 1 on the final lap of the feature. Brown got bent out of shape, which propelled Whitelaw into the lead. He held strong through the finish, picking up another feature victory in the division. Ken Turner rounded out the top 3.

The Portland Glass Strictly Streets rounded out the night with a 25-lap feature. Brady Romano held onto the early lead over Keith Drost, but Kurt Hewins was quickly navigating through the field. Hewins overtook Jeremy Glazier for third before moving onto Keith Drost, who he cleared on lap 15. Alex Cromwell took a spin in front of the leaders on lap 19, resulting in a late-race caution. Kurt Hewins powered ahead through two restarts and held off Keith Drost to the finish line, securing the feature victory. Calab Emerson-Mains rounded out the top 3, scoring his first podium finish of the 2022 season.

The racing action continues next Saturday, July 30th at Wiscasset Speedway as the Group #1 divisions return in addition to the 350 SMAC Super Modifieds for the 45-lap Bentley Warren Classic! It’s going to be a can’t miss, action packed event! Grandstands open at 4:00 pm and racing will commence at 5:00 pm. As always, grandstand admission is just $5 for adults and free for kids 6 & under.

For official race results and more track information, please visit

For more information on Wiscasset Speedway’s 2022 Hall of Fame class, please visit

Wiscasset Speedway is located on West Alna Road in Wiscasset, ME.

Total Page Visits: 543 - Today Page Visits: 2

Leave a Comment