Brehio, Renaud Win First Of Season Saturday At Monadnock

WINCHESTER, N.H. – Modified ace Todd Patnode inched closer to copping the 2021 championship Saturday at Monadnock Speedway. And, while the Swanzey star was busy winning his fifth victory lap of the summer, both Austin Brehio and Hillary Renaud earned their first, Brehio to stay atop the Late Model Sportsman points chase.

By Gary Dutton

Rocket man Rob Richardi gobbled up the field to win the Paul Roach Memorial Race in the visiting Pro-4 Modified 35-lapper Saturday, while both Nick Houle and Teagan Edson added to their growing victory list at the high-banked speedplant.

With only two events remaining in the speedway’s successful 2021 racing season, Patnode will take a 36-point advantage over Matt Kimball into next week’s NHSTRA Modified feature. His victory Saturday, was well earned.

Tyler Leary, bidding for his third win of the summer, led the first 21 laps of the Modified feature but Patnode, charging from row three, then rocketed through the low groove to take charge and never look back. Kimball got up for second on lap 26, then taking the checkers second, three lengths behind Patnode, with Leary riding in his shadow.

Modified star Ben Byrne was in the house but not on the track Saturday, missing the 35-lap feature when the hydraulic system on his hauler refused to function, holding his potent ride captive in the pits.

Brehio, rock-solid but winless entering Saturday’s LMS feature, held the top spot the last 11 go-rounds of the 25-lap feature to end the night in victory lane, 22 points atop the points parade.

The charging Littlewood brothers, Justin and Cole, finished second and third, followed by Glen Brehio and qualifying race victor John Meany.

Chris Davis, the man atop the Pure Stock 2021 leader board, had victory in sight with little more than a lap remaining in Saturday’s 25-lapper but was then picked off by an errant lapped car splashing around in turn two, only to see dynamo Nick Houle dash past him and then take the checkers for his sixth victory of the season.

Davis finished at Houle’s heels to claim the runner-up hardware and maintain his points lead with only two 2021 races remaining. Teen blaster JD Stockwell was a close third, finishing just ahead of Cory Lofland and recent Young Guns grad Jake Bosse.

Renaud, from row two, took charge on lap two of the Street Stock feature and never looked back. Chris Buffone passed TimWenzel for second on the 15th go-round but had to settle for the runner-up hardware inches behind Renaud.

With Renaud scoring her first win of the summer – she was a two-time winner a season ago – Buffone, Tim Wenzel and Nate Wenzel finished close behind, with Buffone and Nate Wenzel finishing the night tied atop the points parade.

Pro-4 star Rob Richardi got to the front on lap four of the Paul Roach Memorial and dominated the rest of the way to take the checkers ahead of longtime Monadnock strongman Rob Goodenough. Green Mountain Boy Ryan McPartland was third, while Jack Dumas wheeled the first Lites series ride under the checkers.

Teagan Edson won the caution-free Young Guns 15-lapper, her third victory of the summer. Dominick Stafford, victorious a week earlier, was second, and ten-year-old Jeff Moffat came home third in his first race on the high banks.

Monadnock Speedway returns to action next Saturday, September 11, with Gomarlo’s Fan Appreciation Day, featuring an afternoon, on-track meet-and-greet followed a full card of racing.



NHSTRA MODIFIED; Todd Patnode, Matt Kimball, Tyler Leary, Aaron Fellows, Brian Chapin, J.T. Cloutier, Solomon Brow, Kimmy Rivet, Craig Smith, Eric LeClair.


LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN: Austin Brehio, Justin Littlewood, Cole Littlewood, Glen Brehio, John Meany, Craig Smith, Caleb Cashman, Dan Comeau, Mark Hudson, Cam Curtis.


STREET STOCK: Hillary Renaud, Chris Buffone, Tim Wenzel, Nate Wenzel, Eddie Brehio III, Jason Kozacka, Keith Johnson, Leighton Lutz, Nate Nunez, Bob Betourney.


PURE STOCK: Nick Houle, Chris Davis, JD Stockwell, Cory Lofland, Jake Bosse, Jason LeRay, Matt Croteau, Doug Cameron, Ryan Lawliss, Chris Higbee.


YOUNG GUNS: Teagan Edson, Dominick Stafford, Jeff Moffat, Aaliyah Tacy, Zach Zilinsky.

Photo by Emily Miller

Michelle Cloutier
Track Operations Manager
Monadnock Speedway

Total Page Visits: 207 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment