2023 NTT INDYCAR Series Season Continues At Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course With GMR Grand Prix This Saturday

STAMFORD, Conn. – May 11, 2023 – The 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES heads to Indianapolis for the “Month of May” with live coverage of the GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course this Saturday at 3:30 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock. The race marks the fifth of seven races airing on NBC to begin the season. Peacock is the streaming home of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, presenting all races, qualifying and practices this season.

Reigning Indianapolis 500 champion Marcus Ericsson (130 pts) holds a slim three-point lead in the 2023 points standings, followed by Pato O’Ward (127 pts), 2021 series champion Alex Palou (121 pts), and Scott McLaughlin (119 pts), who took the checkered flag at the Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix on April 30.

Colton Herta won last year’s GMR Grand Prix, and two-time series champion Will Power is a three-time winner of the event.

Live coverage of qualifying and practice sessions from Indianapolis Motor Speedway tomorrow and Saturday will stream exclusively on Peacock. For more information about Peacock’s comprehensive streaming coverage of the 2023 INDYCAR season and how to sign up, click here.

NBC Sports’ lead INDYCAR commentary team of Leigh Diffey (play-by-play), Townsend Bell (analyst) and James Hinchcliffe (analyst) will call the race. Marty Snider and Kevin Lee will provide reports from pit road. Coverage airing on NBC will also stream live on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app.


  • Play by Play: Leigh Diffey
  • Analysts: Townsend Bell, James Hinchcliffe
  • Pit Reporters: Marty Snider, Dave Burns, Kevin Lee


  • TV – NBC
  • Streaming – Peacock, NBCSports.com, NBC Sports app
Date Coverage Platform(s) Time (ET)
Fri., May 12 GMR Grand Prix – Practice 1 Peacock 9:30 a.m.
GMR Grand Prix – Practice 2 Peacock 1 p.m.
GMR Grand Prix – Qualifying Peacock 4 p.m.
Sat., May 13 GMR Grand Prix – Final Warmup Peacock 11:15 a.m.
INDY NXT by Firestone Grand Prix Peacock 1 p.m.
GMR Grand Prix NBC, Peacock 3:30 p.m.
GMR Grand Prix – Post-Race NBC, Peacock 5:30 p.m.

As part of its lead-up to the Indy 500, NBC Sports is counting down the top 10 Indianapolis 500s of all time. The countdown began with the 1967 Indy 500 ranking at No. 10 and the 2006 Indy 500 coming in at No. 9. The Top 10 list was determined by a panel of esteemed INDYCAR broadcasters, journalists and former drivers, which ranked the races based on a set of five criteria: quality of racing, memorable moments, strength of field, historical significance, and the spectacle of the race itself.

Last week, NBC Sports announced that the 1992 Indy 500 ranked No. 8 on the countdown, and the 1991 Indy 500 came in at No. 7 all-time.

Rank Year Details
No. 7 1991 Rick Mears battles and defeats Michael Andretti at the 1991 Indianapolis 500 to join the club of four-time winners.
No. 8 1992 Al Unser Jr. holds on to defeat Scott Goodyear in what became one of the closest finishes in history at the 1992 Indianapolis 500.
No. 9 2006 19-year-old Marco Andretti passes his father Michael Andretti for the lead with two laps remaining, but Sam Hornish Jr. passes Marco at the finish line in the third-closest finish in Indy 500 history.
No. 10 1967 Widely regarded to have one of the strongest fields in history, Parnelli Jones dominates the majority of the 1967 Indy 500 before slowing to a stop due to a gearbox issue with just three laps remaining. A.J. Foyt assumes the lead and then avoids a wreck on the front straightaway as he approaches the checkered flag to win third Indy 500.
Total Page Visits: 273 - Today Page Visits: 2


Related posts