Posted in

Gray Makes Statement in Taking 1st Central Asphalt Triple Crown Race of 2023

(John Raper photo)

N. Woodstock, NH — The Central Asphalt Paving Flying Tiger Triple Crown Series returned to White Mountain Motorsports Park on Saturday night with the field doubling in size as racers from across the Twin States of Vermont and New Hampshire converged to take on the challenging series.

After several unseasonably hot days in the North Country, fans flocked to see the best of the best go head-to-head on a cool June Saturday night and left satisfied that they had seen the beginning of something spectacular with Round #2 of the Central Asphalt Paving Triple Crown circled on their calendar. 

There's more content below the ad, which helps to pay our expenses. Thanks for looking, and please continue the article below.

Custom Hot Wheels and Matchbox Cars For Sale - The Coldnose Garage on Etsy

After a fantastic set of heat races, Fisher Auto Parts Flying Tiger point leader Brandon Gray, legendary Joey Laquerre and Thunder Road invader Chris LaForest led the field to green with +3 handicaps they’d earned utilizing the American-Canadian Tour Plus/Minus system. Gray would get the jump and show the twenty-car field the way, but it wasn’t without action from behind. As the race wound down, Brad Bushey had worked his way to a top-five spot after starting back in 15th with trouble brewing. A three-wide dive on the backstretch proved too much and Bushey went sliding through the infield grass and up into traffic to ruin a strong run. At the end, Brandon Gray would take the win in the first round of the Central Asphalt Paving Flying Tiger Triple Crown Series followed by former series champion Jason Woodard and defending Vermont Mini-Milk Bowl winner Logan Powers.

The Foley Oil & Propane Late Models held a clean and competitive 50-lap feature event with Ryan Ware and Matt Anderson leading the early way. Ware would once again catch trouble in the gremlin-filled beginning of his 2023 season but opened the door to Mike Jurkowski. The flashy orange machine of Jurkowski led the way but soon found his back mirror full of Kasey Beattie. Beattie had made a beeline to the front, looking to make it two-for-two at the beginning of the year but it was Jurkowski who would prevail by just 0.226-seconds over Beattie at the line. Quinny Welch bounced back from a hard hit on opening day to take third.

The Ammonoosuc Asphalt Mini Late Models had their season debut alongside the Mighty Mini Stock Tour regulars. Those Touring stars proved to be the class of the field with Desmond Skillings and Cody LeBlanc putting on a barn burner through the course of their 50-lap main event. Skillings would take the win over LeBlanc with White Mountain regular Garrett LaBounty taking third in his car show winning beauty. Defending White Mountain champion Nick Anderson took fourth with longtime track standout Dustin Jackson rounding out the top-5.

The Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank Strictly Stock Minis also had some invading Green Mountain teams from across the Connecticut River to contend with. Led to point by 2022 Rookie of the Year Jason Goodbout and Scott Senecal, the top runners and the invaders quickly got to work. Kristian Switser, Todd Derrington and defending champion Chris Moulton crissed and crossed each other, allowing former Thunder Road champion Jeffrey Martin and Kyler Davis to move up through the field. Kristian Swister took down the win to make it two-for-two on the season followed by Martin and Moulton to complete the podium.

Nine Kiddos joined in the fun to be the top Dad’s 4 By Tool & Supply Kid’s Division driver of the night. Among the newbies, yet again veterans made their presence known with Logan Farnsworth taking the win in his first trip to White Mountain this season followed by Austin Sicard for his second-consecutive runner-up finish of the season and Kylee Potter taking third with renewed confidence in a new machine for 2023.

White Mountain returns to action on Saturday, June 10th with the second round of the Wall’s Ford Platinum Late Model Series. The $3,000 to win Late Model Special presented by Foley Oil & Propane is a can’t miss event as the Foley Oil Late Models go head-to-head with a large crowd of invaders heading over Route 3 with nothing but money-signs in their eyes! The Fisher Auto Parts Flying Tigers, Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank Strictly Stock Minis and Wayne’s Market Dwarf Cars will also join in the Foley Oil & Propane fun! 

For more information, contact the White Mountain Motorsports Park offices at (802) 244-6963,, or visit You can also follow us on Facebook at @WhiteMtnMotorsports.

(John Raper photo)

White Mountain Motorsports Park – N. Woodstock, NH

Central Asphalt Paving Triple Crown #1

Saturday, June 3, 2023



Fisher Auto Parts Flying Tigers – Central Asphalt Triple Crown #1 (75 Laps)

1 00VT Brandon Gray E. Thetford, VT

2 68VT Jason Woodard Waterbury Ctr., VT

3 31VT Logan Powers Middlesex, VT

4 23NY Cam Gadue Highgate, VT

5 62VT Jamon Perry Hardwick, VT

6 54VT Colin Cornell E. Burke, VT

7 4NH Shane Sicard Barton, VT

8 26NH John Donahue Graniteville, VT

9 3VT Michael MacAskill Williamstown,VT

10 23NC Chandler Potter Plainfield, VT

11 56VT Chris Laforest Barre, VT

12 60NH Thomas Smithers VI Gilmanton, NH

13 82NH Frank Sweeney Belmont, NH

14 36NH #Nathan Hamblett Derby Line, VT

15 3NH David Baron Nashua, NH

16 15NH Joey Laquerre E. Montpelier, VT

17 34VT #Jim Paquette Alburgh, VT

18 26VT #Luke Peters Groton, VT

19 52VT Brad Bushey Fairfax, VT

20 78VT #Tyler Pepin Barre, VT


Foley Oil & Propane Late Models – (50 Laps)

1 42NH Mike Jurkowski Claremont, NH

2 45NH Kasey Beattie St. Johnsbury, VT

3 78NH Quinten Welch Groveton, NH

4 47NH Brockton Davis Whitefield, NH

5 83VT Stacy Cahoon St. Johnsbury, VT

6 22WC Mike Clark Littleton, NH

7 55VT Keegan Lamson Berlin, VT

8 17NH #Kyle Goodbout N. Woodstock, NH

9 21NH Oren Remick Monroe, NH

10 32VT Ryan Ware E. Burke, VT

11 49NH Matt Anderson Franklin, NH

12 92NH Will Avery Campton, NH

13 38VT Tyler Cahoon Danville, VT

14 97VT Pat Patten Belmont, NH


Mighty Mini Stock Series / Ammonoosuc Asphalt Mini Late Models Combo – (50 Laps)

1. 90 Desmond Skillings Antrim, NH

2. 7NH Cody LeBlanc Berlin, NH

3. 76 Garrett LaBounty Orleans, VT

4. 55 Nick Anderson Oxford, MA

5. 37 Dustin Jackson Bethlehem, NH

6. 1NH Ken Marier Newfields, NH

7. 31 Brett Jackson Bethlehem, NH

8. 7MI Matt LeBlanc Berlin, NH

9. 409 Nick Houle Granby, MA

10. 18 Dick Lamotte White River Jct., VT

11. 66 Normand Raymond, Jr. Sherbrooke, QC

12. 82 Richard Stockwell Buzzards Bay, MA

13. 11NH Josh Dunn Enfield, NH

DNS 71 Kevin Boucher Grafton, NH


Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank Strictly Stock Minis – (25 Laps)

1. 16NH Kristian Switser Waterford, VT

2. 8 Jeffrey Martin Barre, VT

3. 15 Chris Moulton Pepperell, MA

4. 57 Todd Derrington Littleton, NH

5. 69VT Kyler Davis Berlin, VT

6. 1 Scott Senecal Lisbon, NH

7. 99 #McKenna Merchant Waterford, VT

8. 92 Jason Goodbout, Jr. Lincoln, NH

9. 51 Tyler Thompson Lincoln, NH

10. 16x #Patrick Switser Woodsville, NH

11. 14 Jillian Baumgardner N. Woodstock, NH

12. 18 Donnie Baumgardner N. Woodstock, NH

13. 16VT Nate Brien Williamstown, VT

14. 02 Dustin Wilson Bethlehem, NH

15. 69 #Aiden Young Dalton, NH

16. 09 Jack Hayes Littleton, NH

DNS 17 Les Washburn Bethlehem, NH

DNS 18NH Anthony Gavel Belmont, NH


Dad’s 4 By Tool & Supply Kid’s Division Top 3– (15 Laps)

1 22 Logan Farnsworth St. Johnsbury, VT

2 01 Austin Sicard Gilmanton, NH

3 32 Kylee Potter Marshfield, VT