Chase Dowling Saves Early, Storms To Victory Lane Late At Monadnock Speedway

WINCHESTER, N.H. — Strategy was the name of the game in the fourth round of the Tri Track Open Modified Series season at Monadnock Speedway on Saturday, August 14. While Chase Dowling started his day at the back of his qualifying heat and the 100-lap feature, the end of the 100-lap special sponsored by Wonder Casino saw him park the No. 9 Start Finish Motorsports machine in Victory Lane.

By Souza Media/Kyle Souza

The win was Dowling’s fourth career in Tri Track competition and his second career at Monadnock. But it didn’t come without a thoughtful strategy from the Roxbury, Connecticut, native. As part of the random draw process, Dowling didn’t get a favorable spot to start his qualifying heat and elected to ride patiently in the 12-lap qualifying race, saving his equipment. He started the feature at the tail end of the pack, and rode at slow speed to start, continuing to save his Hoosier rubber for when it mattered most.


During one of many cautions in the race, Dowling peeled off to pit road on lap 31 and entered the track again at the rear of the field with one goal in mind: wait until the leaders pit. When the rest of the field dropped to pit road at lap 42, Dowling stayed out and entered the top-six. From there, he worked up through the few cars left in front of him and took the lead from Kirk Alexander on lap 54. He never looked back from there.


Dowling had to hold off a mix of Modified standouts en route to the $6,000 victory. The win puts him alone in second place in the Tri Track all-time wins list, only trailing Matt Hirschman, who chased him across the line in second.


At arguably one of his worst statistical tracks, Hirschman chased his car from the middle of the pack late to the front after winning his qualifying heat race. The five-time Tri Track champion took over the points lead heading for the final two races of the season, while Ron Silk, who entered the race as the points leader, was involved in a wreck and finished 18th.


Justin Bonsignore was third, running a similar strategy to Dowling and contending late, with Ronnie Williams fourth and local favorite Brian Robie fifth. Joey Cipriano finished sixth, followed by Matt Swanson, Kirk Alexander, Richard Savary and Chris Pasteryak.


Bonsignore collected the Green Construction Hard Charger of the Race honors, starting 26th and finishing second, while Dowling added another $300 to his winning prize for posting the Fast Feature Lap Award courtesy of Jerico Performance Products.


Earlier in the day, Max Zachem, Hirschman and Pasteryak won $300 each as part of the Pepsi Challenge for winning their heat events. A total of 27 cars showed up to the Winchester, New Hampshire, high-banked oval for the fourth race of the Tri Track season and all started the Wonder Casino 100.


Up next on the Tri Track circuit is a return to Seekonk Speedway on Wednesday, August 25, for the conclusion of the $10,000 to win Open Wheel Wednesday Speed51.TV Modified Madness. The show will begin at 7 p.m., with just feature events left to run. It was originally slated for June 30, but a power outage in the area that night forced it to be postponed. The series will also be back at Seekonk on Saturday, October 23, to crown the 2021 champion in the annual Haunted Hundred.


For more information on the Tri Track Open Modified Series, visit and follow the series on social media.


RESULTS: Tri Track Open Modified Series at Monadnock Speedway, Saturday, August 14, 2021:

There's more content below the ad, which helps to pay our expenses. Thanks for looking, and please continue the article below.

Custom Hot Wheels and Matchbox Cars For Sale - The Coldnose Garage on Etsy


  1. Chase Dowling

  2. Matt Hirschman

  3. Justin Bonsignore

  4. Ronnie Williams

  5. Brian Robie

  6. Joey Cipriano

  7. Matt Swanson

  8. Kirk Alexander

  9. Richard Savary

  10. Chris Pasteryak

  11. Les Hinckley

  12. Max Zachem

  13. Earl Paules

  14. Ryan Doucette

  15. Tommy Barrett

  16. Matthew Kimball

  17. Rob Murphy

  18. Ron Silk

  19. Woody Pitkat

  20. Anthony Sesely

  21. Tyler Barry

  22. Sam Rameau

  23. Derek Robbie

  24. Dylan Izzo

  25. Frank L’Etoile Jr.

  26. Robert Bloxsom III


Want to receive notification of new news items?

Sponsored by:

Site hosted by:

Visit our friends at…