Dave Greenslit and Ricky Bly Stay Red Hot Friday At Claremont

CLAREMONT, N.H. – Ricky Bly stormed to his tenth win of the summer Friday at Claremont Motorsports Park, with Dave Greenslit staying close behind as he earned his ninth 2022 victory lap.

Super rookie Nick Houle won his fifth of the year in the Mini Stocks, Colton Martin was unofficially the Pure Stock victor, and Robert Shaw won for the third time in the Six Shooters.

Steve Bly and Cam Curtis led the Route 103 Auto/Heads Up Motorsports Late Model Sportsmen to the green, with Bly pouncing on the opening lead and Jeff Murray following him to the point. Ricky Bly was up to third on lap three and quickly taking aim at the top spot.

He had second on lap six and rocketed into the lead the next time around. Ben Poland got up for second on lap nine but had nothing for Bly. Curtis, strong all night, came home third, with Cody Schoolcraft edging Craig Smith for fourth.

Compensated Advertising

Dennis Greenwood and Trevor Rocke shared row one as the R.E. Hinkley Fuel Co. Street Stocks came to the green. Greenwood led laps one and two, with Rocke then taking charge,

Dave Greenslit, firing from row four, got up for second on lap 12, then taking the lead on lap 15 and never looking back. Chris Lindquist was in the mix all night, earning the runner-up hardware, with Matt Sonnhalter making a last lap pass to claim third. Greenslit and Briana Akusis won the heat races.

Nick Houle, from row two, led all the way in the In City Sugar Shack Mini Stock feature, powering to victory for the second week in a row. Friday, he swept both his heat race and the 25-lap feature.

A lap-15 caution brought Greg Millette to Houle’s side but he could advance no further, taking the checkers second in the nose-to-tail finish. Josh Dunn came on strong in the closing laps to finish third.

Bruce Jaycox led the first six laps of the LaValley Building Supply Pure Stock feature before being unceremoniously punted in turn three to bring out the event’s third and final caution. Rookie powerhouse Colton Martin then took over, bringing points leader Chris Chambers and former winner Aiden White with him.

White would snatch second from Chambers on the final lap, but his third-place finish, coupled with JD Stockwell’s disappointing 15th-place showing and Nolan McClay’s absence, gave Chambers a big boost in the championship points parade.

Robert Shaw took charge on lap two of the Avery Insurance Six Shooter feature and never looked back. Steve Miller Jr. chased him all the way but had to settle for second, with points leader Steve Miller Sr. third on the night.

The Senior Tour Auto Racers series made its annual CMP stop on Friday, honoring late former racer and STAR board member Bobby Turner, a one-time Modified competitor at the Thrasher Road speedplant.

Arthur Hannaford of Limerick, Maine topped the 13-car STAR Modified feature. Canadian Jocelyn Laliberte was second, and Scott Tucker third. Bill Butler won the Sportsman 15-lapper, followed under the checkers by Bob Guyon and Joe Gause.

Next Friday, August 12, Claremont Motorsports Park will host twin 100-lap features, when the Open Modified Racers Honoring Racers huge event will share center stage with the Granite State Pro Stock Series. Post time for this very special event is 6:30 p.m.

(no photo credit received, please contact us to be credited)

LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN: Ricky Bly, Ben Poland, Cam Curtis, Cody Schoolcraft, Craig Smith, Dylan Zullo, Jeff Murray, Steve Bly, Jack McClay.
STREET STOCK: Dave Greenslit, Chris Lindquist, Matt Sonnhalter, Trevor Rocke, Andrew Brousseau, Brandon Gray, Joe Tetreault, Briana Akusis, Erik Smith, Mike Salois.
MINI STOCK: Nick Houle, Greg Millette, Josh Dunn, Chris Judd, Dave Thibeault, David Pratt, Wayne Kendall, Bradon Morrie.
PURE STOCK: (unofficial at press time): Colton Martin, Aiden White, Chris Chambers, Kyle Templeton, Zach Richardson, Amy Jaycox, Jim Rhodes, Travis Sykes, Colton Hull, Andrea St. Amour.
SIX SHOOTER: Robert Shaw, Steve Miller Jr., Steve Miller Sr., Andrew Scott, Lucas Bernatchy, Jacob Scott, Eric Griffin, Tyler Scott, Taelor McDonald.

Article Credit: Gary Dutton

Total Page Visits: 807 - Today Page Visits: 1

Related posts

Leave a Comment