Four Drivers Will Be Eliminated From NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs At Bristol Motor Speedway This Saturday On NBCSN

STAMFORD, Conn. – Sept. 15, 2021 – Crucial races with championship consequences in both NASCAR and INDYCAR highlight this week’s motorsports coverage across NBC Sports. Four drivers will be eliminated from the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs when NASCAR returns to Bristol Motor Speedway in primetime this Saturday, Sept. 18, at 7:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN. An hour-long edition of Countdown to Green pre-race coverage begins at 6:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

With only two races remaining in the 2021 season, the NTT INDYCAR SERIES is at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca this weekend with the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey. Pre-race coverage begins Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock, with race coverage getting underway at 3:30 p.m. ET. NBC Sports INDYCAR analyst Townsend Bell will ride-along with former INDYCAR driver and current INDYCAR team owner Sam Schmidt in Schmidt’s specialized car on the track during race and pre-race coverage.

Coverage of the final race of the Xfinity Series regular season will begin in primetime Friday at 7 p.m. ET from Bristol with Countdown to Green on NBCSN, leading into race coverage at 7:30 p.m. ET.

NBC Sports’ lead NASCAR race announcer Rick Allen will call both the Cup and Xfinity Series races this weekend from Bristol alongside Daytona 500-winning crew chief Steve Letarte, 21-time Cup Series race winner and “The Mayor” of NASCAR Jeff Burton, and two-time Daytona 500 Champion and NASCAR Hall of Fame selection Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Marty SniderDave Burns and Dillon Welch will contribute coverage from pit road during Friday and Saturday’s races from Bristol.

Pre- and post-race coverage this weekend will be anchored by Marty Snider alongside Kyle Petty and Dale Jarrett from victory lane.

In last weekend’s Cup Series playoff race at Richmond, Martin Truex Jr. secured a berth in the Round of 12 of the Cup Series Playoffs with his victory. In addition to Truex Jr., Kyle Larson and Denny Hamlin have earned berths in the Round of 12. Also on Saturday, Noah Gragson won his second consecutive race in the Xfinity Series.


Drivers Points
Kyle Larson Advanced to Round of 12
Denny Hamlin Advanced to Round of 12
Martin Truex Jr. Advanced to Round of 12
Joey Logano 2093 (+40)
Ryan Blaney 2081 (+28)
Kevin Harvick 2078 (+25)
Chase Elliott 2072 (+19)
Christopher Bell 2070 (+17)
Brad Keselowski 2066 (+13)
Kyle Busch 2061 (+8)
Aric Almirola 2056 (+3)
Kurt Busch 2053
Alex Bowman 2053
Tyler Reddick 2048 (-5)
William Byron 2035 (-18)
Michael McDowell 2015 (-38)

The official home of the NASCAR Championship and Playoffs, NBC Sports will once again present the final 20 NASCAR Cup Series races and 19 NASCAR Xfinity Series races in 2021, culminating with the Championship at Phoenix Raceway on Nov. 6-7. Click here for more information on NBC Sports’ 2021 NASCAR coverage.

NASCAR Pick ‘Em: NBC Sports’ free-to-play game, NASCAR Pick ‘Em, features a weekly contest for each NASCAR Cup Series race. NASCAR Pick ‘Em is available for download now on the NBC Sports Predictor app powered by PointsBet (available in the App Store and Google Play Store) and at


  • Play by PlayRick Allen
  • Analysts: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff BurtonSteve Letarte
  • Pit ReportersMarty SniderDave BurnsDillon Welch
  • Specialty ReporterRutledge Wood


  • HostMarty Snider
  • AnalystsKyle PettyDale Jarrett


  • TV – NBCSN
  • Streaming –, NBC Sports app
Date Coverage Network Time (ET)
Fri., Sept. 17 Countdown to Green – NASCAR Xfinity Series NBCSN 7 p.m.
NASCAR Xfinity Series Racing at Bristol Motor Speedway NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
NASCAR Xfinity Series Post Race NBCSN 9:30 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 18 Countdown to Green – NASCAR Cup Series NBCSN 6:30 p.m.
NASCAR Cup Series Racing at Bristol Motor Speedway NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
NASCAR Cup Series Post Race NBCSN 11 p.m.
Total Page Visits: 185 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Comment